Platinum Platinum
Platinum Our StoryVodka HistoryVodka MythsSazerac BrandsGreat RecipesQuestionsWeb linksContact SazeracHome Sazerac Great Vodka
Platinum
Frequently Asked Questions


Does vodka contain gluten?
Gluten is the protein containing part of grain. Wheat gluten is what people are most concerned about especially those with Celiac disease. All of our vodka’s are produced from corn. Vodka can be considered gluten-free as it is a pure distilled product. To the best of our knowledge, the distillation removes or denatures the proteins and gluten associated with the starting grains. We have tested our products and never found detectable levels of protein. Until very recently it was against regulations for any alcoholic beverage to advertise as “Gluten-free.” The TTB has just come out with a ruling for producers to start voluntarily labeling products that contain one of the eight major allergens, with wheat being one of those. This regulation will soon become mandatory. We have not heard of any adverse allergic reactions nor had any complaints from celiac patients to our products. However, as always, please consult your physician before consuming any alcoholic beverages.


Does vodka have any carbohydrates?
The distillation process removes things like carbohydrates. All vodkas are free of carbohydrates because of the process needed to produce them.


Are there calories in vodka?
Yes, there are calories in alcohol. The number of calories will vary depending upon the type of alcohol.


What does organic mean?
To achieve organic label certification, the stringent guidelines of the National Organic Program must be met. This includes proof that the grain used for making the vodka is organically grown without pesticides or herbicides. The process of producing the vodka must also be done without the use of unapproved chemicals. And the facility must be open to inspection by governing officials at all times. This is an expensive and time-consuming process that must be periodically recertified by the governing body. For our Rain Organics vodka we feel that going above and beyond to make this a certified organic vodka is worth the effort to give our consumers a product that is responsibly made to ensure the health of mother earth.


Does vodka deteriorate after the bottle is opened?
No. Once bottled, the character of vodka will not change at all due to the fact that it is a distilled product. Over very long periods of time you may experience some evaporation and perhaps even oxidization.


Can you put vodka in the freezer?
Yes, the alcohol content in 80 proof vodka or higher will keep the vodka from freezing in the typical consumer freezer. If it does freeze, there should be no change in the vodka taste when thawed.


What is the difference between flavored and regular vodka?
Vodka is by legal definition “a neutral spirit without distinctive character.” Flavored vodka has been treated or added to a flavoring to give a characteristic odor and taste. By law regular vodka must not be less than 80 proof, whereas flavored vodkas can be sold at 70 proof.


What is an infusion?
An infusion is the process of steeping ingredients in a liquid. The liquid will then penetrate the ingredients and pull the essence into the liquid. Tea and coffee are famous examples of infusions. A vodka infusion is done by putting the ingredients into a jar and pouring the vodka over them. The resulting liquor can be quite flavorful. Try lemon peel and cinnamon sticks for a different spin on your favorite vodka.


Are all martinis made with vodka?
No. A classic martini contains either gin or vodka with a small amount of vermouth. However, lately a martini has become synonymous with any cocktail served in a wide sloping glass.


If you would like to us ask a question, please e-mail us at . We will do our best to provide you with an answer.